Leading Journal of the Irish & UK Fishing Industries

Fishmongers across the UK are invited to enter a new suite of awards, recognising commitment to sustainability, engagement with the local fishing fleet, exceptional retail displays and much more. The Awards ceremony, to be held on 8 June 2020 at the historic Fishmongers’ Hall, is now in its third year and will recognise a wide range of skills within the industry through a series of awards.

The Master Fishmonger Standard (MFS), managed by the Worshipful Company of Fishmongers, certifies fishmongers with extensive professional skills and knowledge. The Company has helped to uphold standards of fishmongering since 1272.

These new awards will be handed out alongside the certification of fishmongers, who have completed one of the several MFS tiers which reward excellence across all levels of professional experience. Winners will receive a free place on the MFS programme, a marketing grant to help promote their business and a trophy and sign celebrating their success.

Fishmongers will submit supporting paragraphs, photos or videos alongside their application before the winner is selected by the MFS’s chief examiner. The full list of new awards is as follows:

  • Blocksman of the Year
  • Training and Development
  • Best Mobile Fish Shop
  • Best Community Outreach
  • Best Fish and Shellfish counter
  • Sustainability – Retail
  • Sustainability – Seafood Processor
  • Engagement with local fishing fleet

The ceremony will also see the second MFS Young Fishmonger Award, open to fishmongers under the age of 25.  This award tests the technical knowledge, skills and passion of the next generation of the UK’s fishmongers and will be decided by a combination of public vote and a panel of certified Master Fishmongers. For all the information on how to enter any of the awards, or to become a certified MFS fishmonger, visit masterfishmonger.co.uk. Entries close on 28 February 2020.